Gerald Elias - Salt Lake City

Oct 20, 2020, 7:00 pm


Gerald Elias

Book Title

The Beethoven Sequence


Salt Lake City

Statewide Region


Zoom Conference Call
202 W 300 N
Salt Lake City , UT 84103-1108
Map [+]


Weller Book Works invites you to join Gerald Elias, author of the Beethoven Sequence, for a reading and Q&A.

Register here now

From the pen of Salt Lake City novelist Gerald Elias, author of the critically acclaimed Daniel Jacobus mystery series, comes his first thriller. The Beethoven Sequence, the story of a mentally imbalanced political outsider who makes an improbable ascent to the presidency of the United States, is scheduled for a September 8 release by Level Best Books.

A rural Colorado machine shop mechanic, Layton Stolz is obsessed with the music of Beethoven and its message of freedom for mankind. Building a cult-like empire of acolytes, by the time he is elected president his message has metastasized into a cancerous ideology, and his political machine is bent upon eliminating his opponents.

One of them is Ballard Whitmore, a graduate of Brigham Young University who was imprisoned on trumped-up sexual misconduct charges. Whitmore and female reporter Sandy Duckworthy, the only person who believes his story, risk their lives in their quest for his exoneration and the downfall of President Layton Stolz.

The Beethoven Sequence is truly a novel suited to our turbulent times. Conceived well before the current White House administration, it contains prescient parallels of what could happen when political power, supported by a critical mass of indoctrinated acolytes, goes unchecked.

This event was made possible with support from Weller Book Works, Book Club, and Utah Humanities.