Habilis with Alyssa Quinn


Sep 16, 2022, 6:00 pm

The King's English Bookshop welcomes Alyssa Quinn, author of Habilis.

A hallucinatory exploration into the origins of humans and human language perfect for fans of Brian Evenson and Eimear McBride

Lucy, a young woman with an uncertain past, finds herself thrust into a mysterious anthropology museum that converts into a disco club each night. Moving through its labyrinthine galleries, she tries to construct an origin story for herself and for her species. But as the night progresses, her grip on language and identity slips away until the exhibit captions rupture the text, transporting us to East Africa, where the lives of three people—British anthropologist Mary Leakey, an Indian indentured laborer building the Uganda Railway, and a curator with too many secrets—interweave to reveal the darker side of the search for origins.

Surreal, spiraling, and daringly innovative, Habilis is all at once a historical reconstruction, a psychological horror, a mystery, a ghost story, and a creation myth. But above all, it is a meditation on language, desire, and the stories we tell about ourselves—especially those that might unravel us.

Through a collage of museum exhibits and Lucy’s fractured memories, the narrative destabilizes the boundary between science and myth, reality and representation, and, ultimately, the very concept of origin itself.

ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION:
- ASL interpretation provided by 5-star interpretation.
- No livestream will be made available
- Parking: Only neighborhood parking is available. Event area accessible via rear parking lot.
- Seating: Folding chairs. Space for people with wheelchairs is available.
- Bathrooms: Not accessible by wheelchair.
- No on-site sensory kit
- Masks recommended
- Request any additional questions or accommodations here: https://forms.gle/uV8MABJVvh9bE42F8
This event is made possible with support from

This event is made possible with support from the King's English.

The King's English Bookshop

1511 S 1500 E
Salt Lake City , UT 84105-2809
Map [+]

Event Contact:

The King's English Bookshop
books@kingsenglish.com
(801) 484-9100

feedback